Thought Catalog

You were mine for a heartbeat.

I remember the first time we met, both a little drunk on white wine. I needed the liquid confidence that night. Your lips were unfamiliar then, seemingly incompatible with mine. I remember thinking you were a little silly-childish even- and that your laugh was strange. I didn’t think I would ever see you again.

I don’t know how it started, but your voice found its way into my head. You became the first person I spoke to when I rose in the mornings and the last before I closed my eyes. I wish I could remember our conversations; it’s funny how the smallest details mean the most in the end.

I remember being scared. I didn’t understand how someone like you could be attracted to someone like me. I was a naïve girl clinging to the ghosts of the past, insecure and shy, dating…

View original post 631 more words

