Thought Catalog

I’ve been a gymnast since I was 2 years old and a cheerleader since I was 8. I’ve been captain of my high school team, on a senior co-ed open competitive team, and last year became a collegiate cheerleader, and I loved the fact that I have to change people’s opinions about my sport and really show the athleticism required.

Cheerleading is split into four categories. Professional cheer mostly consists of dancing for professional sports teams, and middle and high school teams tend to focus on cheering on the other sports and school spirit. Competitive (also known as All Star) is a completely different world. There are six levels along with the exhibition. The divisions are also categorized by how many girls are on the team and how many (if) males are on the team. Collegiate cheerleading is the mecca of all competitive cheerleading. Along with supporting your school’s spirit…

View original post 633 more words

