Tags

, , , , , , ,

The worst feeling in the world is watching someone you love struggle, and not being able to do anything to help them.  Not because you don’t want to, but because you can’t.  They are facing a situation where they need to help themselves.  You just want to run over and pick them up off the ground, brush off their knees, and wipe away their tears and frustrations with a kiss on the cheek.

But if only it were that simple.

Watching you struggle as I have the past few months is slowly taking its toll, on both you and me.  You are growing more frustrated and angry that things aren’t working out the way they should.  And I, in return, am frustrated that I can’t fix you, that I can’t make you feel better.  I have been reduced to sitting on the sidelines, saying comforting words that I don’t think quite reach you anymore.  And it’s killing me. It’s killing me to see you so miserable, to hear the heartbreaking things you’re saying and wonder if there is even an ounce of truth to them.  I just want to make you feel better.  And I can’t do that.  This time, I can’t pick you up–you’re going to have to do it yourself.

But when you do–and I know you will–I’ll be here with open arms, just as I always have, just as I’ll always be.

